facebook icon  Google-Plus 24x24  icoTwitter  youtube

FedScoop 50: Celebrating 2014′s leaders in federal IT

  • Written by 

Army G-3/5/7; Goldy Kamali, CEO, FedScoop; Wolf Tombe, CTO, CBP/DHS; Dr. Alissa Johnson, Deputy CIO, Executive Office of the President; and David Bray, CIO, FCC. (Credit: FedScoop)

As the calendar year soon comes to a close, FedScoop celebrated federal IT excellence Thursday night, announcing its 2014 FedScoop 50 award winners throughout government and industry.

After parsing through more than 50,000 votes on thousands of nominees, FedScoop honored the 50 most renowned federal IT champions over the past year in front of hundreds of government and industry leaders gathered at the Hay-Adams rooftop, with gorgeous views of the White House, the National Monument and the southern Washington, D.C., skyline. Amidst a night of decadence, awards were given in seven categories, starting with the most prestigious Golden Gov award and touching all aspects of the federal IT community, from Disruptor of the Year and Cybersecurity Leader of the Year to Industry Leadership and Most Inspiring Up & Comer.

A huge FedScoop congratulations goes out to all the award winners and finalists, and thanks for making 2014 an amazing year in federal IT.

The 2014 FedScoop 50 are:

Golden Gov- For the visionary leading government into a new technology landscape with innovative ideas and by inspiring others to get on board.

  • Terry Halvorsen, Acting CIO, DOD
  • Sonny Hashmi, CIO, GSA
  • Frank Baitman, CIO, HHS
  • David Bennett, CIO, DISA
  • Luke McCormack, CIO, DHS
  • Michael Daniel, Special Assistant to the President & Cybersecurity Coordinator, Executive Office of the President
  • Mike Krieger (Ret.), Deputy CIO G/6, U.S. Army
  • Grant Schneider, Deputy Director for Information Management & CIO, DIA
  • Chad Sheridan, CIO, RMA/USDA

Federal Leadership- For the visionary leading government into a new technology landscape with innovative ideas and by inspiring others to get on board.

  • David Bray, CIO, FCC
  • Deb Diaz, CTO for IT, NASA
  • John Edgar, VP of IT, USPS
  • Margie Graves, Deputy CIO, DHS
  • Dr. Alissa Johnson, Deputy CIO, Executive Office of the President
  • Marina Martin, CTO, Dept. of Veterans Affairs
  • Richard McKinney, CIO, DOT
  • Eric Nelson, Director, Office of eDiplomacy, Dept. of State
  • Chuck Riddle, CIO, Government Printing Office
  • COL Bobby Saxon, Division Chief, U.S. Army G-3/5/7
  • Nick Sinai, Deputy CTO, OSTP, Executive Office of the President
  • Bryan Sivak, CTO, HHS
  • Wolf Tombe, CTO, CBP/DHS
  • Jack Wilmer, Deputy CTO, Enterprise Services, DISA
  • Richard Young, Director of IT Policy & Compliance, DHS

Industry Leadership- For the private sector pioneer driving change in government IT with unique solutions.

  • Teresa Carlson, VP of Global Public Sector, Amazon Web Services
  • Marilyn Crouther, SVP & GM, HP Enterprise Services
  • Maj. Gen. John Custer (Ret), Director, Federal Strategic Missions & Programs, EMC
  • Kay Kapoor, President, AT&T Government Solutions
  • Jason Kimrey, Area Director of Federal Sales, Intel
  • Curt Kolcun, VP of U.S. Public Sector, Microsoft
  • Thomas Romeo, President, Maximus Federal

Disruptor of the Year- Leading innovators not afraid to challenge conventional wisdom and shake up the status quo.

  • Ben Balter, Government Evangelist, GitHub
  • Mikey Dickerson, Administrator, U.S. Digital Service, Executive Office of the President
  • Ronald MacKenzie, Chief of Business Applications Branch, RMA/USDA
  • Marsha Mullins, Chief, JSJ6 DDC51/Joint Fires Division/DOD

Cybersecurity Leader of the Year- For the leader paving the way in cybersecurity innovation.

  • Greg Maier, CISO, TSA
  • Roberta Stempfley, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Cybersecurity Strategy & Emergency Communications, DHS

Most Inspiring Up & Comer- Young leaders who did exceptional IT work this year and made you think, “They’ll be running the show someday.”

  • Mika Cross, Workplace Transformation Strategist, OPM
  • Neil Evans, Co-Director of Connected Health, Dept. of Veterans Affairs
  • Jennifer Gray, Lead Cloud Enterprise Architect, Office of Strategic Planning & Governance, HHS
  • Erie Meyer, Administrator, U.S. Digital Service, Executive Office of the President

Tech Program of the Year- The best examples of influential tech programs that have led to cost savings, efficiencies and partnerships between agencies.

  • Enterprise Management Decision Support, U.S. Army G-3/5/7

Innovation of the Year- Technologies implemented this year that may have been unfathomable until recently.

  • Finder, DHS Science & Technology Directorate & NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory

FedMentor of the Year- These busy leaders stepped up and took the time to share their very best practices, tips and career advice with the next generation of leaders.

  • Flip Anderson, Acting Associate CIO, IRM/USDA
  • COL Ken Blakely, Commander, Command & Control Support Agency, U.S. Army G-3/5/7
  • Jonathan Cantor, Deputy Chief Privacy Officer, DHS
  • Camsie McAdams, Acting Director, Office of STEM, Dept. of Education
  • Ellen McCarthy, COO, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency

Tech Champion of the Year- For the leaders whose passion for tech made us all think outside of the box.

  • Hillary Hartley, Deputy Executive Director, 18F, GSA
  • Robert Vojtik, Director, End User Services Division, TSA/DHS
back to top